D is for Dips

So I made the lemonade and I enjoyed it! So I read more of the cookbook and decided to make two dips. One dip I thought of myself, the other came from the book.

The first one is what I like to call your crab dip with my own twists and turns! Here’s how I did it:

Title: K’s Krab Dip:

8 oz crab meat

2 c. mayo

1 1/2 tbsp. cocktail sauce

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp sugar

1 1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/4 green pepper (diced)

3 green onions (chopped fine)

So mix together the mayo, cocktail sauce, lemon juice, sugar, and garlic salt, then add in crab meat, green pepper, and onions. Let it chill for at least 1 hour in the fridge. Serve it with crackers or anything you would like!

It was kind of whatever I saw, I threw in. I can admit that. 😉 What I can also admit is, I love it! It tasted very fresh and I’ll be making this dish for Christmas Eve. Also I would like to note that you can obliviously use shrimp too, which I’ll be doing too. And like I do with every recipe, put how much or how less you like something. A recipe is just the blueprint, it’s up to you to build it for your taste buds.

IMG_20151202_134544

Okay now on to the recipe that I used in that ’70s cookbook. Now I’ll admit I’ve never had anything like it. But what got me interested is, I had a bag of pretzels and well it was a cheap dip to make.

It’s called Mustard Dip:

1 c. mayo

2 tbsp. mustard

1/4 tsp. Worcestershire

1/4 tsp. garlic salt

dash pepper

chives (for garnishing)

Combine all ingredients except chives; chill. Serve with seafood cocktails or crackers. Garnish with chives . Yields 1 cup.

So that’s there recipe. My thoughts are this: I used pretzels, I used yellow mustard, which you could use whatever mustard you like. I didn’t have anything else. I would love to use a stone ground mustard next time. Overall I’m calling it my quick and easy pretzel dip! Would I change anything? Maybe add some cream cheese?

Oh and this would be great on a sandwich too. Will say it’s something I would have never made before. So it make it your own and add whatever you like.

IMG_20151202_134639

 

Now what about that lemonade?

Here’s a photo of my syrup and my 8 0z glass of Mark Twain’s Lemonade.

 

Happy Eating!

IMG_20151202_135041

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

