Golden Globes Supper Menu

The Golden Globes is airing on NBC this Sunday, so I thought it would be interesting to make a supper menu for the event. Once again I saw myself digging through cookbooks, because I thought it would be a nice challenge to find the right recipes. I made the realization that I own a lot of cookbooks from the 50s and 60s! It’s kind of a cool realization, if you are a person like me who loves a lot of vintage stuff. I own all kinds of books really, from pamphlets from famous brands to a bunch on French Cookery. My advice is you need all kinds of cookbooks and there is no such thing has having too many. Sure I’m like the next person, I do google for recipes, but there is nothing better than digging through books too. (Though you’ll notice that your dessert recipe does indeed come from the web, but I just love the King Arthur Flour website!) Did I ever mention that I’m a book addict? That my room is filled with shelves of them? That’s your fun fact for the day.

Anyway our theme is Golden and before you ask, next year’s theme won’t be Globe. I picked the word golden, because I thought of Golden Yellow Cake. Though don’t think that I’m telling you to go buy a box cake! Before I go on, I would like to say that don’t have anything against box cakes.

Now here’s the menu I came up with:

Before you read any further, after you eat this great meal, my advice for snacks are the following:

  • Popcorn
  • Chex Mix
  • Chips/French Onion Dip
  • Nachos

Just something simple because you don’t want to miss anything on the TV! Right?

Main Course: Golden Oven-Fried Chicken

I got this recipe from the book, “Country Living Recipes” by Jean Wickstorm Liles.

1/4 butter or margarine, divided

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. dry mustard

1 tsp. paprika

1 tsp. pepper

1 (2 1/2-3- pound) broiler fryer chicken, cut up

Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a 13×9 baking pan.

Combine next 5 ingredients; stir well. Dredge the chicken in the flour mixture. Then place the chicken in the baking pan, and dot with remaining butter. Bake at 350 for 1 hour!

So there is your main course. It’s a recipe that I’m sure we’ve all seen once. I know my mother makes a recipe a lot like this one.

Every great main course needs a side dish. So this is what I found to share, it’s from the book, “The Betty Furness Westinghouse Cookbook,” which was prepared by Julia Kiene.

The Side Dish: Golden Rice Casserole

1 cup of cooked rice

3 tbsp. butter

1/2 cup chopped onion

3/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cup cheddar cheese

Melt butter in a medium saucepan, then add the onion and seasonings. Saute that till golden brown, add flour and blend. Add the milk and blend till it thickens. Remove from the heat, the add the cheese. Stir till well blended. Add the rice, stir with fork, then put the mixture in a 3 quart greased casserole pan.  Bake at 350 for about 30 mins.

So that’s the recipe! According to it, that should serve about 5 to 6 people. I don’t know to me that would be more like 3 to 4. 😉

The Dessert: Golden Cake

One of my favorite parts of the meal! Who doesn’t love dessert? If you say you don’t, I know you’re lying!

Like I said before I love going on the King Arthur Flour site. They were the reason I got the nerve to make homemade sticky buns. Seriously, didn’t know how easy they were to make. Now I’m sharing their recipe for a nice Golden Cake.  The full recipe is called, Plain and Simple Golden Cake. Click  here.

And no I’m not getting paid or anything for talking them up. I just do enjoy their site. Also I would like to note that I’ll be baking this cake for Sunday, so be prepared for some photos! 

I hope this is a helpful guide and if you have any recipes that you love, always feel free to share them in the comments! Are you an award show watcher? Since I love movies and fashion, it just kind of happens that I like them.

Have a good Tuesday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

